Don't miss any stories Follow Tennis View

The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

The best of the best battle for the prestigious year-end trophy

Roger Federer returns to the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals for a record 13th year in a row. Federer joins Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal in the elite eight-man field at the season finale, to be held at The O2 in London from 9-16 November, where he will be looking to win his seventh crown.

Federer Barclays ATP
The 33-year-old Swiss is the most successful player to compete at the tournament, compiling a 44-11 record and claiming a record six titles in 2003-04, 2006-07 and 2010-11. He breaks the record of consecutive years qualifying for the championship, a mark he previously shared with Ivan Lendl (1980-91).
“It’s always one of the big goals I set myself at the beginning of the season,” said Federer. “It’s always an absolute honor being part of the best eight. Getting a chance to win an extra trophy at the end of the season – which is so prestigious, one of the biggest ones we have in the game and one I’ve done so well at – is a great feeling. Returning to the season finale is something I’ve been a part of since 2002, so to do it again is a privilege and I will try to play my very best there. I hope I can save some of my best for last.”

Novak Djkovic returns to London to defend his title, while Rafael Nadal, who has battled injuries for much of the year, joins the Serb in the elite eight-player draw.  Nadal has qualified for the tournament for the 10th straight year. The Spaniard has finished runner-up on two occasions, in 2010 (l. to Federer) and 2013 (l. to Djokovic). The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals title is one of the few major prizes in the sport still to elude the Spanish superstar.

Rafa’s qualification for this year’s Barclays ATP World Tour Finals is terrific news for tennis fans in the UK,” ATP Executive Chairman and President, Chris Kermode, said. “Rafa has previously come close to winning the title in London a number of times. This year, once again, many will consider him to be a leading contender as he looks to add this prestigious title to his long list of career achievements.”

Rafa Barclays ATP

The eight players with the most Emirates ATP Race to London countable points accumulated in Grand Slam, ATP World Tour, and Davis Cup tournaments during the year qualify for the season-ending championships. The players are split into two groups of four and compete in a round-robin format against players in their group. The two players with the best results in each group progress to the semifinals to face the runners-up of the other group in a knock-out stage. The doubles competition uses the same format. Singles matches are the best of three tie-break sets, including the final. All doubles matches are two sets (no ad) and a match tie-break.

In doubles, Bob and Mike Bryan will also be bidding to crown their 2014 season by winning the tournament for a fourth time, adding to titles in 2003-04 and 2009. They have qualified for the eight-team season finale for the 13th consecutive time (2001, 2003-2014). No doubles event was held in 2002.The American brothers have captured five team titles in eight finals this year. In 2014, they clinched the year-end No. 1 Emirates ATP Doubles Team Ranking for a record tenth time and for a sixth consecutive season.

The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals has welcomed more than 1.25 million fans to The O2 arena over the past five years, establishing itself as the biggest indoor tennis tournament in the world since moving to London in 2009. To purchase tickets visit


Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

Category: 1500

Place: O2 Arena, London England

Date: Nov. 9-16, 2014

Draw Size: S-8 D-8

Surface: Indoor Hard

Prize Money: $6,500 ,000




This article is from the Nov/Dec 2014 - Bryan Brothers issue

>>Read Articles
>>Browse Back Issues


Subscribe now and you'll never miss an issue!