Don't miss any stories Follow Tennis View

World Team Tennis Adds Tiafoe, Puig, Raonic, Sock, Bouchard To 2020 Rosters

Jun 18th 2020

RANCHO SANTA FE, Calif. – World TeamTennis has added several prominent tennis stars to an already jam-packed lineup of roster players set to compete during the 45th season of World TeamTennis, taking place at The Greenbrier “America’s Resort” in White Sulphur Springs, W. V.

WTT has announced that each player will play the entire three-week regular season, scheduled for July 12-30, with the WTT Semifinals (Aug. 1) and WTT Final (Aug. 2) to follow.​

Rising American Frances Tiafoe, 2016 Olympic gold medalist Monica Puig, three-time Grand Slam doubles champion Jack Sock and two former Wimbledon singles finalists from Canada – Milos Raonic and Genie Bouchard – will play World TeamTennis this season, joining previously announced players such as reigning Australian Open singles champion Sofia Kenin, 2017 US Open winner Sloane Stephens and Mike and Bob Bryan, tennis’ all-time winningest doubles team. In addition, six-time Grand Slam champion Kim Clijsters will join U. S. Davis Cup captain Mardy Fish playing for the New York Empire in 2020.​

I can’t wait for the WTT season to start,” Tiafoe said. “I’ve played WTT for the last three years on the Kastles for some of their home matches in D. C.  I’m excited to go to The Greenbrier to play there for the Kastles next month. Everyone knows 2020 has been a rough year so far. I am definitely looking forward to competing at such a historic venue in such a relaxed setting.”​

Added Sloane Stephens: “I’ve played WTT for, I think, six years now, and it’s always something I look forward to. Especially this year. I know we all miss playing tennis and seeing our friends on the tour, so I’m excited to get to The Greenbrier and get in that environment again. WTT always does such a great job with creating a fun, but competitive, season so I’m ready for that. Plus, I’m playing on Chicago’s team, which is cool because Kamau (Murray) is the coach, so that will be fun.”​

Kenin, the 21-year-old Floridian who currently sits at a career-high No. 4 singles ranking in the world, will play for the Philadelphia Freedoms. The Vegas Rollers will feature 2017 Wimbledon semifinalist Sam Querrey and the Bryan Brothers.​

Two-time Australian Open quarterfinalist Tennys Sandgren will play for the Orlando Storm while doubles specialists Rajeev Ram (Chicago Smash), 2019 WTT Finals MVP Robert Lindstedt (Springfield Lasers) and brothers Neal (New York Empire) and Ken Skupski (Orlando) return this season.​

The San Diego Aviators will boast three past Grand Slam doubles champions in Coco Vandeweghe (2018 US Open), Ryan Harrison (2017 French Open) and Nicole Melichar (2018 Wimbledon). Two-time NCAA singles champion Danielle Collins (Virginia in 2014, 2016) will play for Orlando and two-time NCAA singles champion Steve Johnson (with USC in 2011-2012) will lead the Orange County (Calif.) Breakers.​

Our player rosters are the strongest we’ve ever fielded for a WTT season and include multiple players with Grand Slam titles,” WTT CEO Carlos Silva said. “We have a sampling of current stars like Sloane (Stephens), Sofia (Kenin), Vegas Rollers teammates Sam Querrey and Mike and Bob Bryan, as well as a look at tennis’ future impact players with Brandon Nakashima and Caty McNally. Tennis fans are starving to see some great action on the courts and that’s what we plan to deliver all season.”​

World TeamTennis’ schedule will include at least three matches per day at Center Court at Creekside, The Greenbrier’s outdoor stadium. Fans can purchase tickets at​

The following are the player rosters and coaches for the 2020 WTT season (subject to change with future additions):

Chicago Smash: Brandon Nakashima, Sloane Stephens, Evan King, Genie Bouchard, Rajeev Ram: Coach: Kamau Murray​

New York Empire: Mardy Fish, Jack Sock, Kim Clijsters, Sabine Lisicki, Neal Skupski, Kveta Peschke. Coach: Luke Jensen​

Orange County (Calif.) Breakers: Steve Johnson, Luke Bambridge, Andreja Klepac, Milos Raonic. Coach: Rick Leach​

Orlando Storm: James Ward, Danielle Collins, Ken Skupski, Darija Jurak, Tennys Sandgren. Coach: Jay Gooding​

Philadelphia Freedoms: Donald Young, Taylor Townsend, Fabrice Martin, Caroline Dolehide, Sofia Kenin. Coach: Craig Kardon​

San Diego Aviators: Ryan Harrison, Christina McHale, Jonny O’Mara, Nicole Melichar, Coco Vandeweghe. Coach: John Lloyd​

Springfield (Mo.) Lasers: Mitchell Krueger, Olga Govortsova, Robert Lindstedt, Hayley Carter, Jean-Julien Rojer, Caty McNally. Coach: John-Laffnie de Jager​

Vegas Rollers: Sam Querrey, Kristie Ahn, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Asia Muhammad, Monica Puig. Coach: Tim Blenkiron​

Washington (D. C.) Kastles: Marcelo Arevalo, Bernarda Pera, Nick Monroe, Arina Rodionova, Frances Tiafoe. Coach: Robby Ginepri​

All of WTT’s 2020 regular season and playoff matches will be televised on CBS, CBS Sports Network, Tennis Channel or the ESPN family of networks. In addition, select matches will be live-streamed on ESPN+, Facebook Watch or World TeamTennis’ complete season broadcast schedule will be announced on at a later date.​

Safety guidelines have been put into place by World TeamTennis with guidance of local and state government officials in West Virginia and an adherence to all health and safety protocols set forth by the Center for Disease Control (CDC) due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Every fan at The Greenbrier will be required to pass a temperature check of 100.4 degrees before entering the grounds. All fans will be checked a second time before entering the outdoor stadium, Center Court at Creekside, or indoor court for any matches and will be denied entry should they fail the temperature check.​

About World TeamTennis (WTT)

World TeamTennis showcases the best in professional tennis with nine teams competing in the innovative team format for the King Trophy, the league’s championship trophy named after tennis icon and co-founder Billie Jean King. Since the league's debut, virtually every major champion of the Open era has played WTT, including Andre Agassi, Venus and Serena Williams, Pete Sampras, Stefanie Graf, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters, Bob and Mike Bryan, Sloane Stephens, Martina Hingis, Maria Sharapova, Lindsay Davenport, John McEnroe, Jimmy Connors, Martina Navratilova, Chris Evert and Naomi Osaka. WTT is owned by innovator Fred Luddy and entrepreneur Eric Davidson. WTT's 45th season will play from July 12-30, 2020 and conclude with the WTT Playoffs; league semifinals on Aug. 1 and the WTT Final on Aug. 2. CBS Sports, ESPN, and Tennis Channel are the official television broadcast partners of WTT. Learn more about the history and league champions of World TeamTennis on the history page.

(photo courtesy of WTT)